Real Talk: Why Do People Hate On Drake???

When it comes to dealing with things, people choose to put their personal opinions towards it. It’s only natural because either you’re going to like something or you’re not. Some dudes like their females to be nice and skinny, some like a little meat on their bones. Some dudes like Jordans and some rather Reeboks, it’s all about personal preference. Now, there’s nothing wrong with not liking something and providing a credible reason for it but a lot of times, people tend to hate on things for whatever reasons. When it comes to music, Drake ends up getting hated on for a wide range of different reasons.

Now, yes, Drake’s story isn’t the traditional rapper story. You know, the I grew up in the hood, raised by my mother, I sold crack or weed because my hoop dreams fell through, I’m a gang banging goon, or I was in college but choose to rap story. Yes, he grew up as a bi-racial pretty boy in the suburbs of Tornoto raised by a white mother, dropped out of high school because he wanted to make his role on Degrassi his full time job, never really got in any legal trouble growing up, yes, I know this. I’m not going to lie, I was very leery to even listen to the guy myself but people naturally just hates on son. I think people’s problem is they tend to get too personal with their artists.

When it comes to Drake, I done heard it all when it comes to why people hate on him or don’t like his music. I’m going to name a whole bunch of different reasons. For starters, I done heard “I don’t like his music because he’s soft”. There’s no way for a fan to know if Drake’s soft personally unless you know the man. Just because the man tends to sing as much as he raps or happens to be attractive to females, it doesn’t make him soft. Secondly, I heard “he’s not a rapper and sings too much”. Now this goes back to the personal preference statement, but only a fool will say he’s not talented in both genres. He can write rhymes that challenges some of the game’s best and write a hit for your wife’s favorite R&B singer all with the same pen. Every record him and Wayne does, I feel Drake ends up the victor most of the times. Drake’s reference version of Fall For Your Type for Jamie Foxx is better than the version Jamie ended up putting out. To make this as short as possible, the last thing I usually hear is “his album wasn’t as great as So Far Gone or Comeback Season”. To answer that statement is simple, every artist can’t top their most influential piece of work or classic material. Now my personal opinion is So Far Gone > Thank Me Later > Comeback Season > Room For Improvement. His album, while the music to me was incredible, it didn’t have the same impact that his work on So Far Gone did. I heard people say his album was flat out wack, which is mind-boggling. The man is talented, so the hate that’s toss in his direction is unnecessary.

About Moe

A life liver, a basketball fanatic, a Laurelton Queens native, a music enthusiast, a man, a lot of things makes up me...
This entry was posted in Rap, Real Talk, Saddening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

